Appalachian Trail Museum Hall of Fame Nominations

Published Aug 16, 2014

Appalachian Trail Museum ~~ Photograph by Robert Sutherland

Appalachian Trail Museum ~~ Photograph by Robert Sutherland

Our pal, Robert "Red Wolf o'da Smokys" Croyle, says the time for submitting nominations for the Appalachian Trail (AT) Hall of Fame will end on Friday, February 28, 2014.

The Appalachian Trail Museum is conveniently located halfway between Maine's Mount Katahdin and Georgia's Springer Mountain, the two terminal points on the AT. You may take the simple and easy path there from Interstate 81, or you may choose to follow the absurd directions given by my evil GPS that made me drive roughly 9,328 miles through forests that would scare flying monkeys. Choose wisely.

If you know of someone who has "made a significant contribution toward establishing and maintaining the 2,185 mile footpath that passes through 14 states from Maine to Georgia," you are free to put their name in the hat for consideration, as long as they meet these qualifications:

All nominees must have made an exceptional and positive contribution to the Appalachian Trail or Appalachian Trail community either by leadership, inspiration, service, achievement or innovation.

This includes, without limitation:

  • pioneers who conceived of and developed the trail
  • those who organized or directed major trail organizations or trail maintaining clubs
  • longtime trail maintainers
  • leaders who promoted and protected the AT
  • hikers who have made significant accomplishments and
  • others who have enriched the culture or community of the Appalachian Trail.

Nominees can be living or deceased, with an emphasis on those who have made a long-term contribution to the AT.

Six individuals were elected in the first year. The sizes of the succeeding classes will be gradually reduced to create the maximum degree of honor and exclusivity. The first few classes will be comprised primarily of important historical figures (living or deceased) rather than contemporary figures.

The Appalachian Trail Museum Society is responsible for the Hall of Fame. Society President Larry Luxenberg says, "The fourth class to the Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame will be inducted in 2014, and nominations are open for Hall of Fame nominees. Nominees should be people who have made a significant, positive contribution to the Appalachian Trail and who have unselfishly devoted their time, energy and resources toward making the Appalachian Trail a national treasure."

Without the massive influence and accomplishments made by the 16 current Hall of Fame members, Larry said the Appalachian Trail probably would not even exist. You're welcome to come to the Museum to learn more about those inducted in the first three years of voting:

  1. Myron Avery
  2. Gene Espy
  3. Ed Garvey
  4. Benton MacKaye
  5. Arthur Perkins
  6. Earl Shaffer
  7. Emma "Grandma" Gatewood
  8. David A. Richie
  9. J. Frank Schairer
  10. Jean Stephenson
  11. William Adams Welch
  12. Ruth Blackburn
  13. David Field
  14. David Sherman
  15. David Startzell and
  16. Everett (Eddie) Stone.

The names of the four 2014 Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame inductees will be announced in early May. The Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame Banquet will take place at the Allenberry Resort in Boiling Springs, PA, on Friday, June 6, 2014.

The easiest way to submit a nomination is to click here.

You may make one nomination and support your selection in a brief statement not exceeding 200 words.

Click Here for the Appalachian Trail Museum

Tags: Events, Hiking, News, and Appalachian Trail Museum

About the Author Robert Sutherland:
Robert Sutherland is a travel writer enjoying life. Robert has two adult daughters and six grandchildren.
Related Articles

Published Jan 10, 2015. Do you know of someone who has contributed so much to the Appalachian Trail that they're worthy of induction into the Hall of Fame? If so, nominate them.

Published May 5, 2015. The Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame will honor four new members at a banquet to be held June 5, 2015, at the Allenberry Resort in Boiling Springs, PA.

Published Aug 16, 2014. Names of the 2014 Class of inductees to the A.T. Hall of Fame have been announced.

Published Aug 9, 2013.

Published Jun 20, 2013.

Published Jan 6, 2016. The Appalachian Trail Hall of Fame honors those who created and maintained their beloved Trail from Maine to Georgia

When you attend the Appalachian Trail Museum Festival, be sure to save time for the Half-Gallon Challenge at the General Store.