Forecast of Snow = State of Emergency in N Georgia

Published Feb 10, 2014

The Governor of the Great State of Georgia Nathan Deal ~~ Photograph by Robert Sutherland

The Governor of the Great State of Georgia Nathan Deal ~~ Photograph by Robert Sutherland

To the delight of Yankees everywhere, the governor of the Great State of Georgia has declared a State of Emergency in 45 counties in North Georgia -- including all those near our beloved Appalachian Trail -- because snow and ice are in the forecast.

[insert snarky comments & laughter here]

In response to a Winter Storm Warning issued for much of North Georgia, with sleet and ice in the forecast, Georgia's Governor Deal has declared a State of Emergency for much of the region.

After enduring scathing attacks following the traffic gridlock in Atlanta from the most recent snowstorm, Gov. Nathan Deal this morning declared a state of emergency for 14 North Georgia counties: Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks and Jackson counties.

Since that original declaration, the governor expanded the state of emergency to include 31 additional counties, bringing the total to 45.

The additional counties include: Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Chattooga, Gordon, Floyd, Bartow, Polk, Paulding, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Barrow, Haralson, Carroll, Douglas, DeKalb, Clarke, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Walton, Rabun, Habersham, Stephens, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Elbert and Lincoln counties.

Deal will expand the order to additional counties as conditions warrant. For the most up-to-date announcements, please follow the governor on Twitter, @GovernorDeal.

Tags: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Hiking Gear, Camping Gear, News, Closings, and Georgia Appalachian Trail Club

About the Author Robert Sutherland:
Robert Sutherland is a travel writer enjoying life. Robert has two adult daughters and six grandchildren.
Related Articles